Check out NEW Space Syposium website here! This is an archived website of our past event.

Alan Shepard Technology in Education Award

Bookmark and Share

The Space Foundation, in partnership with the Astronauts Memorial Foundation and NASA, annually presents the Alan Shepard Technology in Education Award to recognize outstanding contributions by K-12 educators and district level personnel in the field of educational technology. Alan Shepard award recipients demonstrate excellence in the development and delivery of technology programs, which focus on aerospace and/or aeronautics. Applicants must explain how their programs ultimately benefit the students in their school or district. All K-12 school and district level educators from across the nation are eligible.

2013 Recipient

The 2013 recipient is Daniel R. Newmyer, a science and math teacher for Center High School in rural southern Colorado. He received the award on April 8 during the opening ceremony of the 29th National Space Symposium at The Broadmoor Hotel, in Colorado Springs, Colo. Read more about Newmyer here.

Read about and see the awards presentations here:

2013 Daniel R. Newmyer
2012 Dr. Cynthia D. Waters
2011 James E. Richmond
2010 Allen V. Robnett
2009 Ricardo V. Soria
2008 Kevin L. Simmons
2007 Luther W. Richardson
2006 Kathy R. Brandon
2005 Ronald F. Dantowitz
2004 Charles Geach
2003 Brian Copes
2002 Thomas F. Hunt, Frank E. Waller
2001 Lori Byrne